Selasa, 29 Januari 2013

Create a Magical Fantasy Image Effect in Photoshop Tutorial Details 

step 20

Program - Photoshop CS5

Assets - The following assets were used during the production of this tutorial:

Now we have everything we need so let’s start!
Step 1:- Open your Photoshop and create a new file with 800px width and 600px height.
step 1
Step 2:- Now open the forest image and paste it on our main file.
step 2
Step 3:- Now click on Image> Adjustment> Hue/saturation.
step 3
Step 4:- Now let’s cover up the little wolf on the right. Create a new layer and select soft round brush. Use it on the wolf with # 0d090c.
step 4
Step 5:- Open the moon image now.
step 5
Step 6:- Select the Eraser tool and erase everything except the moon and few clouds. Then place it on our file.
step 6
Step 7:- Now click on Image> Adjustment> Hue/Saturation. And change the color a bit.
step 7
Step 8:- Now open the girl image and select it with pen tool. After that paste it on out main file. Reduce the size.
step 8
Step 9:- Now paste the girl image one more time and this time don’t reduce the size.
step 9
Step 10:- Select the pen tool and select a bit of the skirt.
step 10
Step 11:- Now copy and paste it, then scale it down with Edit> Free Transform.
step 11
Step 12:- Select Edit> Transform> Wrap and adjust the skirt a bit.
step 12
Step 13:- Now let’s create a moonlight ray, for this create a new layer select the soft round brush with # ffffff. And use it to create the ray. Then reduce the opacity to 60%.
step 13
Step 14:- Set the foreground color to # ffffff and use different star brushes from the set mentioned above.
step 14
Step 15:- Create a new layer and select the round brushes from the above set.
step 15
Step 16:- Now create a new layer and place it under the girl layer. And use one of the wing brushes with #ffffff.
step 16
Step 17:- Now select the butterfly and place it on our file. Now click on layer> Layer style> Color overlay and color it #ffffff. Then click on layer> Layer style> Outer Glow and add a little glow to our butterfly.
step 17
Step 18:- Duplicate the butterfly layer and place these randomly.
step 18
Step 19:- Create a new layer and select soft round brush with color # 63011d. And use it over the skirt. Then change the blending mode to “Color”.
step 19
Step 20:-
Repeat the same process but this time use the color # 48395f for the upper half of the skirt. And if you want you can add a dark frame. step 20
Our magical fantasy is ready. Hope you guys liked the tutorial and learn something interesting. We will be back some more awesome tutorials. Till then have fun!

Final Image Preview

The image below is what we’ll be working towards.

Step 1

These comic book images recreated a printing process using what became known as Ben-day dots. Equally spaced and sized dots in the four printing colors were layered to produce other shades. In any case, the effect was best put to use with limited colors so we’re going to put together a palette of only seven swatches plus black and white.
Drag the following colors (here shown in hex-values) from the color panel into the Swatches panel.
  • #FCE354 – Hair
  • #E27D89 – Lips
  • #E04359 – Tongue
  • #2489ED – Eyes
  • #FF8048 – Blouse
  • #000000 – Black
  • #FFFFFF – White
Double-click on the swatches once in the Swatches panel and name them accordingly.

Step 2

We need to complete our palette by adding the two Ben-day dots patterns. These will fill the background and the skin. Illustrator offers hundreds of patterns, but building your own gives you huge freedom. These simple dots are a perfect way to learn.
Begin by selecting both View > Show Grid and View > Snap to Grid from the top menu. These options will make it easier to be precise when creating our patterns.

Step 3

Using the Ellipse Tool, draw five perfect circles of equal sizes. Then position them on your grid, as shown below (with the Snap to Grid turned on you should manage this with your eyes closed!)

Step 4

These dots form the basis for our pattern, but to ensure that they tessellate (tile) properly, we need to define the edges of what will become the swatch.
Draw a square following the darker line of the grid, intersecting the center of your four outer circles. Ensure the square has no fill color and no stroke color, then right-click it, and send it to the back of your tile objects.
Illustrator will recognize this object as the area to be repeated, anything which falls outside (such as three quarters of each of the outer circles) will not be included in the pattern.

Step 5

Select your transparent square, copy, and then paste it in place (Edit > Copy, Edit > Paste in Front). Give this copy a color of #4EACF9 and then color the dots #ABE0F4. Duplicate the whole thing, color it #F2C8BF, and color the dots #D3A09B. Select the objects of each one and group them (Object > Group), making two separate groups.
Note: These colors don’t represent true CMYK printing values, but create a nice effect so we’ll just put that down to artistic license.

Step 6

Before we add these two groups of objects to the Swatches panel, we’ll scale them a little. Select them both and choose Objects > Transform > Scale from the top menu. Give them a uniform value of 15% and click OK.

Step 7

Just as you dragged colors, you can now drag each of the tile groups into the Swatches panel instantly turning them into pattern swatches. Double click each one and assign them names of ‘Background’ and ‘Skin’. I’ll let you work out which one’s which.
Go to View in the top menu, turn off Snap to Grid, and select Hide Grid to return to the original drawing settings.

Step 8

Anything can be drawn to emulate Lichtenstein’s comic book style, though typically his were scenes of domesticity and consumerism. An image of a surprised woman could represent a troubled business woman or shocked mother. So, I chose this image from dreamstime.com.

Step 9

Open your image in Illustrator, lock the layer it’s on, then make a new layer on which to begin your drawing.

Step 10

Using the Pen Tool, draw basic areas to form the colored parts of the drawing. While doing this, you may find it easier to draw shapes with just a brightly colored stroke to avoid hiding parts of the photo while you’re using them. You probably have your own preferred method of working here.
Use smooth rounded lines and don’t be afraid to exaggerate certain features: like the mouth, wavy hair, wide surprised eyes. We’re creating a comic image here after all.

Step 11

See how the mouth is built from just four simple shapes. The teeth are absurdly rounded as is the tongue, but it gives us the effect we want.

Step 12

Using the swatches, fill each of the main shapes you’ve drawn. The labels given to the swatches should make this a simple task; just select the object you wish to fill, and click on your swatch. She looks kind of funny so far, but we’ll keep working on it.

Step 13

We need a brush to give us the black marker pen strokes which define our images features. Draw an Ellipse on your artboard. Then using the Direct Selection Tool, reduce the handle size on either end. This gives you a pointy ellipse which we’ll use as a brush.

Step 14

Drag your form into the Brushes panel. In the dialogue that appears select New Art Brush and click OK. In the following Art Brush Options dialogue give this brush a name if you wish and click OK. The Illustrator default values are fine for our needs here.

Step 15

We now have a layer for our image and a layer for our filled objects. Make the objects layer invisible and create a third one, which we’ll be drawing our black strokes with.

Step 16

Using the Pen Tool draw a series of curves for each of the elements of our subject’s face. Once drawn, keep the vector selected and choose your custom brush from the Brushes panel. In the Stroke panel change the weight of each line depending on the emphasis needed (for example, the eyelid is a little heavier than the line under the eye, and the eyebrow is heavier still).
It doesn’t take a great amount of detail to create what looks like a convincing eye. It does, however, take a bit of practice. You can get away with making certain aspects larger, more pronounced – such as the eyebrow here, but be careful not to make it too Mickey Mouse.
As you can see, I also lowered the eye slightly to improve the overall look of the face. These decisions are entirely up to your artistic discretion.

Step 17

I’d exaggerated the shape of the mouth so much that tracing the photo was no longer appropriate. Make a copy of the mouth and paste it onto your Strokes layer. In the same way as you did around the eyes, draw a series of curved vectors using the Pen Tool, and alter the line to your custom made brush. Just five strokes around the mouth will be enough to make it stand out.

Step 18

Again with her nose, you’ll need only a couple of strokes to finish it off, as too many lines will add years to her.

Step 19

Continue to outline your objects, some with a normal stroke, some with your custom brush, until you’re satisfied with the result. Make your Objects layer visible and see how it all looks together.
Now you may have to start to alter the order in which objects and strokes are organized; send some strokes back and some objects forward depending on how it looks. Don’t worry too much about keeping things in the correct layers either.

Step 20

Build some extra hair strands out of solid shapes and black strokes to finish layering her hair. Place them on top of the whole drawing so far.

Step 21

Select everything you’ve drawn except for the blue background rectangle, make a copy (Edit > Copy) and paste in place (Edit > Paste in Front). Select the Combine tool in the Pathfinder panel to join it all together and then click Expand.

Step 22

Give this object a nice heavy stroke and align the stroke to the outside of the vector, see image below. This gives our character a solid outline.

Step 23

Build a caption bubble out of a series of ellipses by combining them together with the Pathfinder tool. Give your main bubble a heavier stroke than the smaller ones. Also, use a hand-written style font for the caption. I’ve used Tekton Pro, a font from Adobe, but you can use your discretion as to the font that fits your illustration best.
Group the caption objects (Object > Group) and place them somewhere on your drawing, even overlapping the edges, and the character.

Step 24

To finish the comic book look, you’ll need to tidy the image up. Select everything (assuming your photo layer is still locked) and group together (Edit > Group). Draw a rectangle where you wish the edges of the illustration to be and then copy it to the clipboard (Edit > Copy).
Select the group of objects and your new rectangle and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make.
Now paste your copied rectangle back onto the artboard (Edit > Paste in Front) and give it a heavy black stroke of uniform thickness. You have now masked your drawing and given it a comic book style frame.

Conclusion

You’ve completed your Lichtenstein style illustration! In doing so, I hope you’ve become familiar with making your own patterns and have brushed up on your vector drawing skills too. The final image is below.

Appendix

Scaling patterns is an issue which needs to be mentioned before we wrap up. By scaling an object filled with a pattern you’ll by default increase the surface area of the object, but the pattern will remain at the same scale (in our case, we’d get more dots).
By going to Illustrator > Preferences > General you can change this should you wish to. You can turn on Transform Pattern Tiles, as shown below. You’ll now proportionally scale your pattern whenever you scale your object.
Alternatively, you could go to Object > Expand and turn your pattern into individual vectors, though in doing so you’d be sacrificing the flexibility Illustrator’s patterns offer you.

Pop-Art poster tutorial



On this tutorial I will show you how to make the famous Andy Warhol Pop-Art posters, You gonna have fun while doing this.
So when picking the picture, I recommend you to choose a simple picture, not with loads of hair so It come out easier for you and also white the white Background, but that’s just a recommendation (:
I got my picture from this Gallery.
Now let’s get to work!
1) Create a new file with the background contents set to “white”
image
2) Open your picture and drag it to our canvas.
image
3) go to Image>Mode>Grayscale
image
and select “Don’t flatten”
4) Duplicate your picture (Right click>Duplicate image) and we are going to name one “Hair” and the other one “body”
image
5) Now make the “hair” layer invisible and select the “body” layer
image
go to image>adjustment>levels
image
6) Adjust the levels until you get the desired effect.
This were my settings:
image
image
7) Make the “hair” layer visible again and select it
image
then once again go to Image>adjustment> Levels and adjust the layer to your like-
My settings were:
image
image
8) With the “hair” layer selected, grab the eraser tool (E) and start deleting the part covering the body:
image
9) Let’s get back to image>mode>RGB color
image
and select “don’t flatten”
10) So to color our image I created this color palette:
image
here are another 8 color palettes made by us, based on the originals Andy Warhol’s Pop-Art posters.
11) So let’s get to paint.
Create a new layer by clicking this icon:

at the bottom of your layers palette.
and change the blending mode to “Multiply “
image
and change the name of “Layer 1” to BG.
12) With the eyedropper tool (I), Take a sample of the first color (Purple-ish one) and then fill the picture with the paint bucket tool (G), This one will be our Background:
image
13) Create a new layer and Name it “hair” Once again set the blending mode to “Multiply” & make the BG layer invisible.
image
14) Go back to our color palette and whit the eyedropper tool (I) take a sample of the Yellowish color, that’s the one we will be using for our hair.
Done that, you have to select a rough brush and start painting over the hair.
image
Take your time, No rush, don’t worry if you make any mistake you can click Shitf+CRTL+z to undo it (:
image
15) Now once again create a new layer, name it “body” and set it to multiple & make the “hair” layer invisible.
image
16) Once again with the eyedropper tool take a sample of the pinkish tone & with the brush start painting.
image
Then go back and erase the part that is covering her teeth
image
17) Now, Create a new layer name it “lips”, change the blending mode to “multiply”, with the eyedropper tool select the red color and with a brush, start painting her lips.
image
18) and I think by now you know what to do, let’s create a new layer name it “eyes” and paint her eye shadow with the blueish tone.
image
19) Make the “BG” layer visible once again
image
image
20) Then grab the eraser and erase the part that is covering our picture
image